Eggs in Tomato Sauce Breakfast!

Posted on Updated on

eggsintomatosaucebreakfast lingolunch

Whilst visiting a friend in Spain last week, I was rummaging through her kitchen to try and inspire some creativity in our breakfast dish. Bored of toast and too close to shrove Tuesday to justify making pancakes again, I discovered a recipe online for eggs and decided to give it my own twist. The result? Possibly the tastiest breakfast dish my friend and I have ever eaten (if I do say so myself).  To whip this up for yourself, to feed two people, you’ll need the following ingredients.

Olive oil

2 cloves of garlic

Crushed chilli flakes

Two eggs

Some decent bread, I like seeded

400g tin of chopped tomatoes

Fresh coriander

A dash of cumin and turmeric

Ground black pepper

A pinch of salt

So to begin, crush the garlic and chop into small pieces, then fry in some olive oil in a large frying pan. Next, shake the crushed chilli flakes onto the garlic; use as much as you want depending on how much you like your spice! Leave to cook on a medium to high heat for five minutes before adding the chopped tomatoes. Let the tomatoes simmer for a moment before chucking in the dash of cumin and turmeric then crack two eggs, at opposite sides of the pan, into the mix!

Leave on a medium to high heat to begin but slowly increase the temperature to ensure the eggs cook properly. As they are cooking, you can scatter the fresh coriander on top as well as including the ground black pepper. If you can see that the eggs are almost ready then lower the heat and leave to simmer whilst you slice and toast the bread. I like to do the toast under the grill so that as soon as it’s ready the grill can be turned off but the toast still kept hot inside until you’re ready to serve.

Give the eggs a further five or six minutes and then shake some salt over the top to taste. Remove the toast from the grill and place in two large bowls before scooping the eggs out, tomato sauce in tow and placing on top of each. Make sure you get all of the sauce out of the pan and soaked into your toast!

You can feel free to add a little more salt or pepper or even a couple more chilli flakes on top before you take to the table and enjoy!

This is a recipe by Natalie Jones. Natalie works as a content writer for London Translation Agency, Quick Lingo and also blogs frequently about her travel experiences on a selection of other websites.

6 thoughts on “Eggs in Tomato Sauce Breakfast!

    E. said:
    March 4, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, so I’m always looking for creative ways to reinvent the standard fried egg. Thanks for the recipe, this looks great! Can’t wait to try it this weekend!

      justnatjones said:
      March 4, 2013 at 1:29 pm

      Great! Come back and let me know what you thought 🙂

    Kelsey Lynore said:
    March 4, 2013 at 8:22 pm

    This looks like dinner to me. Simple, delicious, vegetarian, and perfect for the chronically lazy. I hate hassles. Thank you!

    Jade@CoolPads said:
    March 9, 2013 at 8:36 am

    Looks very delicious. I love your blogs. I would say that I’m going to try but believe it or not I don’t have a stove (only a steamer).
    Looking forward to more good looking food!

    Laura said:
    March 13, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    My husband does a version of this with his homemade marinara sauce…so good!

    Vinny Grette said:
    March 16, 2013 at 1:37 am

    I do a simple every day version using salsa and the microwave – fast and delicious! Will post soon

Leave a Reply

